Disease-Oriented Teams (DOTs)

The standard of care for cancer patients at the UW Carbone Cancer Center (UWCCC) optimally involves a multidisciplinary team approach. The translation of laboratory discovery to clinical application is facilitated by multidisciplinary Disease Oriented Teams (DOTs).


DOTs are embedded in specific UWCCC Scientific Programs and provide a multidisciplinary translational infrastructure which fosters inter- and intra-programmatic interactions that address programmatic goals and also disease specific interests. Each DOT has a designated leader and participants include UWCCC Scientific Program members, research staff and other UW faculty.

DOTs meet regularly and interested laboratory research faculty are encouraged to actively participate. In this manner, the multidisciplinary patient care activities and their associated clinical trials research are integrated into the Scientific Programs in several meaningful and functional ways through UWCCC faculty participation and UWCCC administrative support.

DOTs review and prioritize their respective clinical research activity and provide ongoing planning for new investigator-initiated studies. Proposed studies must have the support of the DOT prior to submission to the Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC).

Contact the DOT leader or program manager for more information, or view the DOT standing meeting schedule (NetID login required, link opens in new tab).

Disease Oriented Team Leadership Program Manager
1 S. Park Saurabh Rajguru, MD Lyndsey Deverman
Biospecimen David Kosoff, MD Kim Mast
Laura Ruelle
Brain and CNS Ankush Bhatia MD, PhD
Steve Howard MD, PhD
Renae Quale
Ashley Parr
Breast Kari Wisinski, MD
Lee G. Wilke, MD
Claire Kostechka
Chemoprevention Howard Bailey, MD
Lisa Barroilhet, MD
Kimberly Mast
Early Phase Oncology Therapeutics Nataliya Uboha, MD, PHD Lyndsey Deverman
Jen Heideman
Darcy Stagman
Gastrointestinal Kaitlyn Kelly, MD
Sam Lubner, MD
Renae Quale
Megan Braden
Genitourinary E. Jason Abel, MD, FACS
Glenn Liu, MD
Jamie Gartzke
Jane Straus
Gynecologic Janelle Sobecki, MD Claire Kostechka
Nichole Blazel
Head & Neck Justine Yang Bruce, MD
Adam Burr, MD
Diana Trask
Leukemia Aric Hall, MD Mitch Howard
Carina Knoespel
Lymphoma Vaishalee Kenkre, MD Mitch Howard
Mariah Endres
Melanoma Mark Albertini, MD Renae Quale
Ashley Parr
Myeloma Natalie Callander, MD Mitch Howard
Mariah Endres
Palliative & Supportive Oncology Kris Kwekkeboom, RN, PhD Kimberly Mast
Pediatric Oncology Kenneth DeSantes, MD Jenny Weiland
Precision Medicine Research Team (PMRT) Mark Burkard, MD, PhD
Dustin Deming, MD
Kimberly Mast
Laura Ruelle
Radiotherapy Andrew Baschnagel, MD Diana Trask
Skin Non-Melanoma Nihal Ahmad, MD Christina Sheehan
Theranostics Steve Cho, MD Megan Donar
Thoracic Andrea Axtell, MD
Andrew Baschnagel, MD
Jamie Gartzke
Kristen Schumacher
VA Justine Yang Bruce, MD
Christopher Fletcher, MD
Lyndsey Deverman

Other Research Groups

Investigators and staff that are not part of an established UWCCC Research Group are known as “Other Research Groups” (ORGs). ORG data is managed by the CT Reporting Coordinator, who works with the research group to submit records to the Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC) for review.

Contact the CT Reporting Coordinator: ctreporting@uwcarbone.wisc.edu